Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Dance 8, the hidden language…
graphite and aqueous acrylic on toned paper

Dance 8 is a departure into value and contrast. I have a watercolorist’s abhorrence of black. This almost pathological avoidance of black’s use really has it’s beginnings with the Impressionists. Theirs was an absolute devotion to color.  When you paint in acrylics this is a bit ridiculous. This painting is about value and value is the revealer of form.

“When I walk into [the studio] I am alone, but I am alone with my body, ambition, ideas, passions, needs, memories, goals, prejudices, distractions, fears.”

Twyla Tharp

Dance 8, the hidden language 8x11, graphite and acrylic on toned paper

Dance 8, the hidden language
8×11, graphite and acrylic on toned paper

It would be politically incorrect for me to say this but Reubens lived in a different time and place. So I quote the master of the voluptuous.

I paint a woman’s big rounded buttocks so that I want to reach out and stroke the dimpled flesh.

Peter Paul Reubens