Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

05a, 05b, 05c, Skull Shoals
…getting ready for some plein air expeditions

05b Skull Shoals 7x5, watercolor on 140lb coldpress paper Playing with my plein air set up getting ready for some new expeditions to the N. Georgia Woods

05b Skull Shoals …reflections in the Oconee
7×5, watercolor on 140lb coldpress paper
You may purchase 05b Skull Shoals …reflections in the Oconee for $25 here

I broke out my plein air set up to see what I have and to make sure I’m ready to go when the opportunity presents itself. I’ve been spending too much time in the studio and not enough out amongst’em.

05a Skull Shoals 7x5, watercolor on 300lb coldpress paper Playing with my plein air set up getting ready for some new expeditions to the N. Georgia Woods

05a Skull Shoals
7×5, watercolor on 300lb coldpress paper
You may purchase 05a Scull Shoals for $25 Here

I use a 12 color Sakura Koi Watercolors Pocket Field Sketch Box for my plein air work so that was the first thing I pulled out (I have long ago lost the list of what the included colors are). I have special brushes I like to use. The brushes are my less expensive ones, so if something happens to them it’s not a great tragedy and have had the handles cut down so they will fit into my little plastic container.

05c Skull Shoals 7x5, watercolor on 140lb coldpress paper Playing with my plein air set up getting ready for some new expeditions to the N. Georgia Woods

05c Skull Shoals
5×7, watercolor on 140lb coldpress paper
Playing with my plein air set up getting ready for some new expeditions to the N. Georgia Woods

In the past I have done almost exclusively small 5×7 paintings when working away from the studio but for this next series of paintings I plan on working larger formats 9×12 and 11×15. The larger works will give me the opportunity to explore the scene and how I want to represent it; as well as, offer opportunities for even greater expressive qualities.

You can never fully prepare for a plein air session because each painting opportunity is unique and only experience through trial and error will teach you what you need and use. Limiting your kit to the minimum is important because you do need be able to carry it with you. I do like to carry a medium that I don’t use often so I can push my personal boundaries some if the muse requires.

The recent cold snap and predicted rain have put my plein air explorations on hold for a bit but I’m committed to getting out in the very near future.